Adventure riding is not for wimps

IMG_3232I’ve had the BMW F700GS for over a year now and have put over 13,000 miles on it. When we bought it I had all these great dreams of epic adventures. Being able to just turn down any dirtroad to see where it leads. New places to picnic and explore and take photos, lots of photos. From Baja’s sandy beaches to it’s silty desert, I was going to be that guy, riding, exploring, having the time of my life on my big adventure bike.

While all the daydreaming of adventures still hold tightly to my little mind, I find it so much easier dreamt than done. This bike is big and heavy and tall. When I drop it, the pieces that break will cost a lot of money to replace. I wish I could ride it the same way I ride dirtbikes, but I just don’t have the confidence. It’s not the bikes fault, for it is made to handle any situation I could possibly put it in. The problem is me, I am a big wimp!

But, the more I take it off-road, the better I get. And when the ride is over, I have this great feeling of accomplishment which I don’t always get when riding my KLX.

So with that being said, here is to more off-road adventures! Just no soft sand……oh and no mud, definitely no mud…. and holy shit no snow!

DCIM100GOPRO R383-G258-B256-EI293-ET00100-EG007

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO

 

 

 

Leave a comment